PDA

View Full Version : a simple box

labolle
1st June 2006, 12:20 PM
This is my first try at a box with through dovetails with miters at the top edges. I will do a fitted lid for it out of the same material later today.

The wood is a type of ceder that grows in Taiwan. Smells good. I'm thinking about leaving it raw since the last two times I put lacquer on this ceder I was not happy with the result. The finish seemed plastic like and raw ceder does age gracefully.

Wongo
1st June 2006, 02:31 PM
Good looking box buddy. I like the dovetails too.

Be careful because that black and white thing loves to scratch cedar and make a mess of it.

KRH
1st June 2006, 02:47 PM
Love the dovetails. Were they hand cut or jig? Also, the timber grain is great. Can I suggest an oil finish, rubbed back to a high sheen. I sometimes give a coat or two of shellac followed by sanding through quite fine grades (eg 2-2500), followed by oil.

Wood Borer
1st June 2006, 03:12 PM
Nice work, I am also interested in the method you used to cut the dovetail joints.

I agree an oil finish would be suitable but you may want to test on some scrap firstly.

labolle
1st June 2006, 03:55 PM
I cut them freehand. First I scribe a line the thickness of the board. Next I eyeball how far I want the dovetail from the edge then take a deep breath and cut the first one. Then I eyeball how far that one is from the edge and try to get the one on the opposite edge about the same distance, take another deep breath and cut. Then I use that spring loaded thingamajig with two points and a rod to adjust how far they are from each other (what is that thing called?) and adjust it till I can walk it from the edge of one outside dovetail to the other with two turns. Once that adjustment is right, I walk it with a little pressure to make small dots where my middle dovetails will go. Once again I eyeball the angles, take a deep breath, and go for it