PDA

View Full Version : My Bowl

Auzzie turner
10th June 2006, 05:44 PM
Hi, this is one of many bowls I have made, the wood is Curly jarrah, and I got this block at the Perth wood show last year for $10;) Please tell me what you think of this bowl, and please rate it out of 5 stars. I made this bowl around 8 months ago. The polish is shellawax cream. The third picture has my hand in it to give you an idea of it's size. It was made on a MC900 lathe. I have been turning for 2 years. Please use the poll in this thread.

P.S See my age:eek:

Hope you like it.

Reagrds.........Auzzie Turner;)

hughie
10th June 2006, 07:20 PM
Hi, this is one of many bowls I have made, the wood is Curly jarrah, and I got this block at the Perth wood show last year for $10;) Please tell me what you think of this bowl, and please rate it out of 5 stars. I made this bowl around 8 months ago. The polish is shellawax cream. The third picture has my hand in it to give you an idea of it's size. It was made on a MC900 lathe. I have been turning for 2 years. Please use the poll in this thread.

Auzzie,
maybe get or make one of the sanders that Gil has posted a pic of, you have some sanding marks on the inside. Other wise a darn nice effort.
hughie

Auzzie turner
10th June 2006, 07:24 PM
Hi, thanks for the masege, I definately should have spent more time sanding. But as I said I turned that bowl 8 months ago, and have increased in quality.
I will post a bowl that I have made recently made flawlessly. Thanks for your comments.

Regards

DJ’s Timber
10th June 2006, 07:33 PM
Hi Auzzie

Nice looking piece of jarrah, Same here a bit more sanding otherwise nice bowl, good free flowing shape

Cheers DJ

rsser
10th June 2006, 09:24 PM
Well done young fella.

That slightly undercut inside is a credit to you.

The shape is good, tho you may find that a base or foot about 1/3 the width of the overall diameter is more pleasing to look at.

Captain Chaos
10th June 2006, 09:49 PM
G'day Auzzie,