PDA

View Full Version : Dovetail Jig Results

Stubchain
12th June 2006, 05:02 PM
Due to other commitments It has been a while since I last got to do anything in the workshop. My daughter wanted a small open wall unit for our grandchild. I though it was a great excuse to try out my dovetail jig (Christmas present, I did say it had been a while).

I though I would share my first experiences with you all, as a complete novice at machine or hand dovetails some might find the information useful. I have also added a couple of pictures.

The jig I have is from Carbatec No WDV – 1N, the bits are CT-0758B and 818-142-11B.

First things first, the manual that came with the jig is like an ashtray on a motorbike, totally useless. I searched on the net and found a much better manual for the same jig. The only problem was all the measurements and tables were in imperial, not to worry as they were useless as well, they were for a router with a template, not router bits with bearings.

Any way after some playing around with some test pieces for about an hour and taking the odd measurement, I finally got round to making the unit. I was pleasantly surprised at the final result. I have come to the conclusion that the jig will definitely get more use.

There are a couple of crucial measurements that need to be adhered to, the depth of the actual router bit, and the depth that the bit is pushed horizontally into the jig. Once these two are right it was fairly straight forward. I don’t know how to work these two measurements out as yet other that cut test pieces. It looks to me like the depth of the router bit governs the tightness of the joint and this is only a matter of very fine adjustment +- ).5mm. The horizontal depth is again very easy after a test cut.