PDA

View Full Version : Magnolia Hollow Form

Gil Jones
14th June 2006, 11:18 AM
4.5" wide by 1.375" hi
Turned from green Magnolia, wall is 3/16", and collar is ebonized Walnut. Finished with wipe-on Min Wax poly, and lightly buffed.

lubbing5cherubs
14th June 2006, 11:24 AM
Gil they are beautiful pieces. May I ask how do you hollow out that kind of shape? What tools are used? I am new to this and that shape is just gorgeous in both your postings
Toni

Gil Jones
14th June 2006, 11:37 AM
Hi Toni, and thank you. The hole is about 1" diameter (before the collar goes on). With a 1" Forstner bit, I drill a hole to about 1/8" of the final depth. Then I use a Scorpion or Stinger hollowing tool for most of the inside work, if it will fit inside. If not, I use a home made hollowing tool (which I will post a picture of in a bit, as soon as I take one). The Scorpion and Stinger are made by Don Pencil >> http://www.donpencil.com (http://www.donpencil.com/)
The homemade hollowing tool is just an "old" carbon steel chisel that I bought at a flea market years ago. Carefully heat the spot where you want the bend, and slowly form the angle needed to hollow around the corner through the hole.

hughie
14th June 2006, 02:27 PM
Gil,

Nice one! Great finish, I like the foot detail as well.

I have just knocked up a tool hollow this type a little easier. Just finished making the handle and gluing it on.

ss_11000
14th June 2006, 05:09 PM
nice work....how do you ebonise the timber ( i'm sure u have sed it before but i cant find it)

rsser
14th June 2006, 11:14 PM
Reckon there's a lot of skill in hollowing with that home-made tool Gil. Nice work.

dazzler
15th June 2006, 12:06 AM
Very nice,

Did you fill it with little green men b4 you sealed it:p

cheers

Gil Jones
15th June 2006, 04:15 AM
Thanks for all the comments.
Hughie, I like your curved/stabilized hollowing tool, I may need to make one like it.
Stirlo, attached is a Word (.doc) file on ebonizing (it is very easy).