PDA

View Full Version : New Lathe arrived!!!!!!

OGYT
21st June 2006, 10:45 AM
My Oneway 1640 arrived yesterday. I had a lot of help from the local Volunteer Fire Dept (I am a firefighter also) to unload it and get it into the shop. I used two 2x6's, stacked, under each end, to raise it up some. The lathe slid right off the skid and onto the 2xs... perfect. Set the legs at full extension. Spindle height is now 49". The rest of set up was easy as pie.
Plugged it in, and it truly hummed!! Never heard a lathe that quiet.
I turned a handwheel first, because I had been planning on a couple of heavy chunks of Cherry. Rough-turned a 22 inch chunk of Cherry into a 15in bowl.... had a lot of punky wood. Turned it outboard, by the way, and then put it into the soap barrel.
Turned for a while on another chunk of it, and it had so much punky wood I decided it wasn't worth saving. Took it off, and put on a large crotch of Bois d'Arc, inboard. Rough turned it into a beautiful bowl, and threw it into the soap, also. Seven days in that, and then on the shelf for a couple or three weeks. Made some modifications to my shop in the interim... moved a fan, and bench, and some other stuff...
The 1640 is a remarkable tool. What a lathe!! Now if I can just get used to the tail stock, the banjos, and the tool rests... they all work perfectly (slide easily, and lock tight), which I am not used to.
Turned on that lathe for a little bit last night, and then turned on it a bunch today, except for an hour break at lunch. So far, no soreness in the shoulders from having the Spindle so high, or my back either. I hope things stay that way.
I think I'll keep it.... :o)
Hughie, when you come to the States, come by here, and turn a little on it. No joke. :o)

lubbing5cherubs
21st June 2006, 11:42 AM
Way to go.. Is that the same one as the big one like toolin' around? Congratulation! enjoy!
Toni

TTIT
21st June 2006, 12:24 PM