PDA

View Full Version : Racing flatwater canoe rebuilding. Advice is needed.

Made in USSR
22nd June 2006, 09:52 AM
Well as I have 2 close friends here I am calm.:D
So, here is my story...
I am a canoeing coach. We have recently new boats which are a bit more narrow and faster so. Here are pics to describe the problem.
This is the old model-->

http://struerkajak.com/g/old/Delta_1.jpg

and this one with new shape-->

http://www.gatsunaev.com/foto/models7.jpg

I've taken the old boat, removed the deck and the stern, narrowed it, then I treated the bottom by the emery, put the boat into the river for couple days in order to make the veneer softer, then squeezed it and cut the boards up. Then I placed the deck back and glued it. Also I glued new inside laths. The stern is open at the moment.
Now as you can see at the pics - the nose and the stern are a bit higher than the middle of a bottom. In my case it turned at same level which is not good.
The question is - how can I raise the nose and the stern on this boat?
For instance if I place the boat into water again and while it wet then put it on the table and hang some weighs on the ends, will it help to reach the goal?
Really need any opinions or advices from profi guys here. Sorry for some poor english.

sinjin1111
22nd June 2006, 10:16 AM