PDA

View Full Version : newbie help...

Mulak
28th June 2006, 06:51 PM
Hey guys

I'm new to wood stuff because my mom and I moved to a house last year and we got alot of room than the apartment we lived in. anyway I got a BBQ next week on july 8 and i got no table. I was wondering if I can make a picnic table with nails only because I got no power drill and plus what wood would you recommend?

Thank

Mulak

TomH
28th June 2006, 10:54 PM
Hi Mulak,

Welcome to the world of wood. Picnic table with nails only is tough, as wood tends to move particularly when stored outside, so you will need something better. A drill will certainly come in handy, and you can buy one for next to nothing at bunnings, so a worthwhile purchase for the future. Assuming you need to buy the wood, it's going to cost more than $100 for even the cheapest wood, so if you are budget constrained and want to use woodworking skills go for a smaller indoor project (coffee table, bookshelves) and then work up to a outdoor table.

Good luck with the plans and the future projects.

Tom

chrisb691
28th June 2006, 11:36 PM
Hey guys

I'm new to wood stuff because my mom and I moved to a house last year and we got alot of room than the apartment we lived in. anyway I got a BBQ next week on july 8 and i got no table. I was wondering if I can make a picnic table with nails only because I got no power drill and plus what wood would you recommend?

Thank

Mulak