PDA

View Full Version : GMC Platinum 235 saw

Daddles
3rd July 2006, 02:07 PM
Yup, I got one and have installed it in my Orange Beastie :D

I've been using a small Hitachi for the last three years and while it was an excellent saw, it was ... small. Couldn't afford a Triton saw so when the new GMC saws came out at $89, I bought one.

The saw bolted into the Triton without any dramas ... except for me having to replace a bolt I broke on the Triton chassis:rolleyes: However, the big brute flexes on its base and this made adjustment a bit of a bear at first.

For some reason, my Triton places the blade to one side of the slot. This was never a problem with the little Hitachi, and in table saw mode with the GMC, it isn't a problem either. However, when I changed to cross cut mode, the unit flexed enough on its base to allow the blade to cut into the side of the aluminium slot :eek:

So I went out and bought the saw stablising bracket :(

This went on easily this morning, except for the first step - you have to align a pivot bolt with the vertical pivot on the saw chassis. Can't do it with the slots and holes provided in the kit (a good cm lack of movement in the fore and aft slot). I bolted it all together though and it doesn't seem to make much difference.

With the stablising bracket in place, the big GMC is now rock steady and doesn't contact the side of the slot when in cross cut mode.:D

So, if you're buying the GMC, I reckon you need to budget another $40 for the stablising bracket :(

The saw is smooth, feels really good and gives a nice clean cut. I tried it with the blade it comes with and with a 40 tooth blade - the change is, I think, worth the money depending on what you are doing, though the standard blade is good enough to try it first if you're short of money.