PDA

View Full Version : Can You Advise re Standing Rigging

blownabout
10th July 2006, 08:44 PM
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to sailing and have recently purchased an 18' plywood "Caprice" bilge keeler. It's on mooring on Lake Macquarie, NSW.

I'll be taking it out of the water for some maintanence soon and would like some advice on a possible modification I have in mind on the shroud positions.

Current configuration is - to the mast top (cap stays?) one forestay, two backstays. side stays with spreaders swept back slightly - aprox 10 deg, they atach to the hull about a foot or so behind the level of the mast.
- shorter stays attach to the mast maybe 2/3 of the way up. One in front and one each side level with the mast.

What I would like to do is to switch the side stays (shrouds?) around so that the top ones with the spreaders attach level with the mast (fore/aft-wise) and the inner (shorter) stays attach at the rearward points where the the upper ones are now.

I think this would allow me to run the jib sheets inside the stays and hopefully point better and would also mean I could let the main sail out further before rubbing the stays when broad reaching/running.

Do any of you more experienced guys know of any reason I shouldn't do this switch?

Please excuse any misuse of terms (corrections welcome).

Thanks in advance
Chris

onthebeachalone
10th July 2006, 09:02 PM
I am pretty new to sailing and have recently purchased an 18' plywood "Caprice" bilge keeler. It's on mooring on Lake Macquarie, NSW. As that a Caprice bilge keeler as in designed by Robert Tucker?

What I would like to do is to switch the side stays (shrouds?) around so that the top ones with the spreaders attach level with the mast (fore/aft-wise) and the inner (shorter) stays attach at the rearward points where the the upper ones are now.From where I'm standing I would have thought that is the way it should be.

Anyone else?

Edited to add...