PDA

View Full Version : Pink Stuff

grayman
16th July 2006, 01:14 PM
Hi gentlemen, I could do with a bit of your advise on my wooden boat retoration. In removing old paint (coates of red, yellow green blue grey white & blue antifoul) i have come across pink filler which appears to be an automotive bog. ? Could this be right or am I barking up the wrong treee. Its been used above and below the water line and has been there for some time judging by the number of coates of paint over it. The other question is in relation to the teak deck which has started to bow up on the edge of each board, ? should this be just sanded flat or is tis a sympton of another problem. The boat is a 17ft open couta boat design with a blaxland twin. I would appreciate any help or advice given as i am only learning this capper. Grayman:)

The Hun
16th July 2006, 11:39 PM
The pink stuff may be Red Lead - a primer that is not really used anymore.

Regards

Peter

Tony Hunt
17th July 2006, 09:29 AM
The bowing teak may be a worry. It suggests the planks are backsawn rather than quartersawn timber (You can tell by looking at the grain pattern). Even if planed flat backsawn planks will continue to cup and this will make it very difficult to keep the deck smooth and, more importantly, keep the deckseams watertight.

Does the boat have a ply underneath the teak? How are the seams looking? Is it all the planks or just a few? The answers to questions like these will dictate the best course of action.

meerkat
17th July 2006, 10:19 AM
hi Grayman,

from my early days helping my dad fix up his boat, if it's like another coat of paint, then like Peter says it's most likely red lead.

If it's thicker than a thick coat then yep bog is more likely.

Any photos ?

Regards
Andrew

grayman
17th July 2006, 11:19 AM