PDA

View Full Version : Advice please - Should I do this??

old_picker
10th August 2006, 10:31 AM
Need to take a whisker [1/16"] out off the bottom of a 2" x 1 1/2" x 11/16" deep trench with a 1/2" mortise bit. The bit has 1/4" shaft with 4 bearings on it which will help support the shaft. [I thought] The cutting head depth is shallow 1/2". It's quite a small bit

I have 13mm of the shaft into the collett. Is it enough??

This a very small job but dont want wreck the job or me.

Thenks for your advice.

Wood Borer
10th August 2006, 02:48 PM
I am not a router expert but is it possible to use a mortise chisel or a hand router plane?

Knurl
10th August 2006, 03:34 PM
I think 13mm is too little but depends on the nature of the flanges inside the collett. I'd recommend a minimum of 20mm for safety sake if you don't want to wreck the work and perhaps your body.

old_picker
10th August 2006, 04:26 PM
depends on the nature of the flanges inside the collett

Please explain the above not quite sure what you mean by flanges inside the collett.

ian
10th August 2006, 09:23 PM
Need to take a whisker [1/16"] out off the bottom of a 2" x 1 1/2" x 11/16" deep trench with a 1/2" mortise bit.
This a very small job but dont want wreck the job or me.do you really have to deepen the trench? It may be much asier to take 1/16 off what goes into the trench

how did you cut the trench in the first instance?

ian

BobL
10th August 2006, 10:32 PM
What sort of wood?

If there is 13 mm in the collet and the trench is 11/16" deep that means the total length of the bit is 17.5 + 13 = 30.5 mm. That is a short bit - I can't see how you can have 13 mm in the collett, 1/2" or 12.7mm cutting length and 4 bearings in the remaining 4.8 mm???

It doesn't add up!

Harry72
10th August 2006, 11:06 PM
13mm is not enough!

Driver
10th August 2006, 11:26 PM