PDA

View Full Version : building a workbench

benchdog
18th August 2006, 01:08 AM
Hi fellow woodies,

ive been looking at this forum for a couple of weeks and have been dabbling in amateur woodwork for a few years, love this site from what ive seen so far:cool:

i am a self-taught (with books, video and internet help) woodworker who has built some basic furniture, little boxes and a few other assorted items.

i am starting to renovate an old house and looking at building in some wardrobes in the bedrooms and some kitchen benches and cabinets.

to help me further my hobby interests as well as the renovations i am committed to, i want to build a proper woodworkers' workbench. research ive done so far at the library and online point towards a cabinetmakers' bench but a joiners bench would be easier to make.

what i am asking for is some replies about bench hardware - vises (types and location), benchdogs (thats me) (round or square, wooden or metal) , holddowns, presence or lack thereof of a tool till, bench deadman, finishes for the benchtop (durable, attractive, high friction to grip the workpiece), desirability of onboard storage and sugggestions for the best way to achieve this).

the research i have done indicates that the best way to go is to buy the bench hardware first, then plan (or modify the plan) to suit the hardware you have.

i have a suitable quantity of 2400x75x50 hardwood (type unspecified) seasoning under the house for the project, it literally fell off the back of a truck, straight into my trailer. with the timber being supplied at the right price i an prepared to pay top dollar for the bench accessories but i dont want to waste money unnecessarily if a cheap product is suitable for my purposes and more expensive product has no real advantage for the extra charges.

i welcome links to other websites, books and more importantly advice from members who have hands-on experience with building quality workbenches.

thanks,

benchdog

HJ0