PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening chisels, planer blades and other stuff

Zaphod
28th August 2006, 09:32 AM
I have some nice (but not top of the line) chisels and I recently had them sharpened by a mate who owns a Tormek. WOW! What a difference. I am a pretty inexperienced woodworker and I have decided that I also need something to sharpen my chisels. The boss managed to drive one of my Stanley chisels into a nail and I now have some leaverage to buy a sharpening system. I have a waterstone and a diamond plate, but I really want a Tormek. She who must be obeyed will not allow me to buy one - yet.

OK, so I've perused a few places and have found some possibly suitable items. The first one is from Timbecon and is a little more than 250 Bucks:

http://www.timbecon.com.au/details/viking-whetstone-grinder-9996.aspx

Details are sketchy, so I will call them today and get a few more details. Any thoughts about this device?

Gasweld also have an even cheaper one on special this month. Only 99 Bucks. No details yet. I'll call them today. Seems OK. Yeah, I know these guys aren't as good as the Tormek, but for a weekend warrior, they might work?

Any thoughts? Do I really need to buy the Tormek and keep it hidden?

Zed
28th August 2006, 09:54 AM
Zaphod do a search in this site for any of the following :

Scary sharp
Sharpening
japanese stones
tormek
sheparrch grinder

and a plethora of options will be made available to you for what is available for sharpening chisels etc... believe me.... - more than you'll wanna read :D

Ivan in Oz
28th August 2006, 10:09 AM
G'Day Zaphod..............

Welcome aboard:)

Zaphod....Hmmmm?????:confused:
I'd rather not think about that one:o

Recently in Toowoomba there was a 'Workshop' at the Uni of Southern QLD,
WOW!!
Many names to whom I can now put faces to, saw how easy it is to get a VERY Sharp finish to Chisels and Plane Blades....[Is there a Better term for Plane Blades?]
AND I mean SHARP