PDA

View Full Version : Hi Guys - a newbie from England

Effigy
30th August 2006, 02:57 AM
Just want to say Hi.

I am an amateur knife maker and woodturner and am just about to start box making for the first time when I found this forum - What a great place!

I am looking to make small presentation boxes to put knives in, and have been given about 10kg of Thuya burr slices and pieces. I am tempted to make the whole box out of Thuya, but wondered if that would be over the top? I have some white oak that I could use for the sides and keep the Thuya for the lid.

I have been told that Thuya doesnt hold screws very well - is that the experience here?

The boxes will be relatively small - just big enough to hold a folding pocket knife.

Cheers!

Sculptured Box
30th August 2006, 08:46 AM
Welcome Effigy

You've become a member of the best Box Makers Forum, internationally!

Personally I've not heard of Thuya before, perhaps it is available here under a different species name?

Heres to seeing your work published on this Forum very soon.

jaspr
30th August 2006, 10:33 AM
Welcome to the forum Effigy - you'll find lots of help here.

AlexS
30th August 2006, 10:57 AM
Welcome, Effigy. Don't know of thuya here, but if it's a burl it probably won't be too good to screw into. Also, it probably looks bretty 'busy', so may be better to use it for highlights - lid panels perhaps - and make the bulk of the box out of something plainer.
Looking forward to seeing some of your efforts.

DPB
30th August 2006, 11:09 AM
Welcome, Effigy.

I understand that Thuya is briar root. It's a beautiful looking wood and would make a spectacular timber box. Here's an example.
http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/3204/untitled1id6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

However, I would tend to use it sparingly and feature it as a highlite of a presentation box perhaps similar to the one I showed in this thread. http://tinyurl.com/gdqvl