PDA

View Full Version : New Member, would like advice :)

Lowey
5th September 2006, 05:18 PM
Hi there, im a 17 yr old student (i've done basic woodworking at school..but thats it), and i have this project that i've been meaning to start lately, but no-one I know knows anything about wood.. so i figured I'd come here and join the fun :).

Well, what i've been meaning to do is make a (now dont laugh :p) case for my computer out of some fine looking wood.
My main concern at the moment is what wood to use..that wont warp with the heat from the innards of a computer, (possibly same type of situation as amplifyers ect)

if any of you fine people could lend a hand, i would be grateful :)

cheers, Michael

jow104
5th September 2006, 05:40 PM
May I be the first to say welcome.

My first thoughts are a cover for a PC that is switched on must be a no no.
Heat & ventilation could be a disaster to your PC. However I might be wrong.
No doubt others will comment re above and suggest native timbers.

Just George
5th September 2006, 05:42 PM
Anything you like, it depends on what your budget is and if you can get your hands on some nice timbers. You could put in some breather holes for the hot air to escape but I'm assuming to case would be open when in use so the heat issue might not be as big as you think. You can stain timber if you don't like the light timber which could solve the type of timber to use.
Cheers and have fun with it.

Lowey
5th September 2006, 05:43 PM
Thanks for the welcome :)

Yea i figured heat might be a problem (and this might freak some of you out :p) and i was going to add watercooling to the components, as well as heaps of fans. So i dunno.. it will make an awesome experiment though :D

Rookie
5th September 2006, 05:51 PM
It's about now that someone normally hunts out this (http://blogga.ru/2005/09/12/wooden_comp/)and this (http://www.extremetech.com/slideshow_viewer/0,1205,l=167088&s=26633&a=167099&po=1,00.asp)from the archives. :cool:

Lowey