PDA

View Full Version : Another new guy

WoodNerd
13th September 2006, 12:59 AM
Hey everybody

I’ve always had my eye on this forum as a source of great information on woodturning, and thought that joining now was as good time as any. Like most of the people in this forum I am greatly passionate about woodturning and spend every spare moment in the shed. But at the moment I’m torn between the sweet smell of sawdust and my final year of high school. I cant really explain how I got into wood turning, first I was doing a bit on a family friends metal lathe (too slow, I know) and before you know it I owned my own vicmarc175 and I was scavenging wood from nature strips across Melbourne. I would have to say I was self-taught (or from books) but since then I have done a 'from beginner' wood turning course that was frustrating at times but helpful. I could say I have yet to develop a particular style, but a large component of my 'one on one time' with the lathe is dedicated to creating sculptures for my art course at school. These include my wooden still-life series (which you can see a sample of in my profile pic.) I this series there is also a cigarette box and cigarettes a milkshake cup and straw.
I also make and sell bracelets (pictured). This one is ringed gigee finished with a boiled linseed oil and terebene combo, and Shellawax cream (which if I may add is a lot better than the regular Shellawax.)

I've also recently become interested in metalwork particularly making my own wood turning tools

Along with his I find time for the odd useless object (my latest one was seeing how smooth I could get a bit of Murry pine) or bowl/platter.

I will endeavour to post further pictures of my work later and make sure that at least EVERYBODY hears my opinion on woodturning matters.

P.S I have the uncontrollable addiction to purchase rare and expensive woods so please don't tempt me, or I'll have to sell my other ear.

wheelie
13th September 2006, 03:00 AM
Hi there,