PDA

View Full Version : Why are Bandsaws so Important?

warmtone
20th September 2006, 10:16 PM
This might seem like a really dumb question but as a relative newbie I am puzzled why a bandsaw is considered by most to be at the TOP of the "must have" tools list?

I will also declare i have never used one - being somewhat intimidated by a fairly lethal blade! I do own a jigsaw which certanly has its place with less perceived safety issues.

Perhaps I have under-estimated a bandsaw regarding (1) General woodworking Versatility and (2) Accuracy.

Are bandsaws being used by forum members for jointing (say dovetails) or tenons - accepting their inherent capacity to cut square and parallel to the workpiece?

Or is it more about versatility for cutting curves and arcs?

keith53
20th September 2006, 10:29 PM
This might seem like a really dumb question but as a relative newbie I am puzzled why a bandsaw is considered by most to be at the TOP of the "must have" tools list?

I will also declare i have never used one - being somewhat intimidated by a fairly lethal blade! I do own a jigsaw which certanly has its place with less perceived safety issues.

Perhaps I have under-estimated a bandsaw regarding (1) General woodworking Versatility and (2) Accuracy.

Are bandsaws being used by forum members for jointing (say dovetails) or tenons - accepting their inherent capacity to cut square and parallel to the workpiece?

Or is it more about versatility for cutting curves and arcs?

None of the above really. It's just nice to have one. You never know when they'll come in handy.:D

Bodgy
20th September 2006, 10:32 PM
Basically, cause it does nearly everything.

It is also the least lethal of all the machnery, cutting down into the table.

Its also the most frustrating to get set up correctly, but it is the tool I use most.

NewLou
20th September 2006, 10:35 PM
Gidday Warmtone:D