PDA

View Full Version : Building a double bass

contrebasse
21st September 2006, 10:51 PM
I'm building a double bass from Western Red Cedar and Silky Oak.

I've never done this before.

Might be interesting for some of you.

http://z4.invisionfree.com/double_bass

myguitar
22nd September 2006, 09:59 AM
That is a massive task. Wow. It looks amazing. Silky oak looks divine!
Taken my breath away.

Well done!

Look forward to the progress! Love the baby tools you use! I also used a small plane on my accoustic guitar. Such delights!

:D

Paul B
22nd September 2006, 12:39 PM
What a great project! Good job!

Man, I'd like to build one of those. Don't know what I'd do with it, certainly couldn't play it. :rolleyes:

I'm just finishing up SS guitar #2, not that I can play that very well either:D

contrebasse
22nd September 2006, 06:32 PM
Well they say they make great sailboats, or great firewood :eek: ...

When I explained to a neighbour about scooping out the top to make the curve, she said "oh, like a dugout canoe?" to which I had to reply "Well, Yes!"

I'm going to play mine.

I do recommend the silicone heat blanket for bending the ribs. So easy.

Phil Mailloux
22nd September 2006, 10:47 PM
This is definitely something interesting for me! I've been thinking of building a double-bass for a while.

I love your website. I only read the first page of the top yet but I'll be reading the whole thing in the course of the next few days (or weeks, it's a lot of info :D )

Where did you get the plans or books needed to plan this and build it properly?
I'm kinda curious to know how much all that Silky Oak and Cedar cost you. :eek:

EDIT: I read a bit more and was shocked to find that you hang out and got most of your info on talkbass. I completely forgot there's actually a double-bass forum there :D I'm on the electrics forum practically everyday

contrebasse
22nd September 2006, 11:37 PM
I'm on the electrics forum practically everyday

There's an electrics forum on Talkbass?????