PDA

View Full Version : Woodturning speed - duration, not RPMs

arose62
28th September 2006, 06:28 PM
Just curious, as it doesn't seem to be mentioned much - how fast do folks produce pieces?

I've never really timed myself, as I'm still learning, and do it for enjoyment not profit.

I noticed last night that I went from a half tree limb, sawed a bit off the end with my bowsaw, sliced the bark off with a tomahawk, and mostly-finished shaping a bowl (about 6 inches diameter by 3 inches high) in about 40 minutes.

This was green wood - the tree only came down a couple of days earlier.

Now I'm sure this won't get me a job offer as a production turner with ;) but does anyone have durations for their turned works?

The only other info I've found has been posts where folks have turned a few bowls in a weekend.

Cheers,
Andrew

Skew ChiDAMN!!
28th September 2006, 07:43 PM
Well... apen only takes a couple of minutes to turn. A lot of time in prep work, but only a few minutes of fun. [sigh]

I timed myself making goblets, from log to table takes between an hour and ninety minutes for my "everyday fiddles." Good quality goblets, for sales or competition, always take at least twice as long. Funny, that. :D

On the other hand, bowls seem to take me forever! :rolleyes: Probably 'cos I turn so many goblets and so few bowls... with bowls I have to keep stopping and taking stock of "where I'm up to." Sad, but true.

ozwinner
28th September 2006, 07:54 PM
5 years and counting.
I have things on the "go" that I started 5 years ago, I havent given up on them, yet.

Al :)

Jim Carroll
28th September 2006, 09:09 PM
Andrew you should not worry too much on how long it takes to turn a bowl or anything else.

1/ Learn to turn.

2/ Learn to turn good

3/ Learn to turn fast.

Do not do it any other order as some try to go from learn to turn to turn fast and finish up with a mediocre product.

Speed will come with confidence and ability.

hughie
29th September 2006, 01:20 AM
1/ Learn to turn.