PDA

View Full Version : What should one look for when buying one's first Lathe?

Helix
11th March 2003, 08:53 AM
Hi all,

I have never turned a piece of wood in my life, and only ever seen the GMC lathe's at bunnings. Please excuse my ignorance, as I have no wood turning knowledge at all.

What should I be looking for in my first lathe, given that I will probably want to get something that is inexpensive, good quality, safe, and suitable for most wood turning projects. I would rather spend $500 now than $250 now and $500 in a year's time (or am I kidding myself?).

I will probably want to turn chair legs, pens, bowls, etc. What other things should be on the shopping list?

Thanks,

Josh

arose62
11th March 2003, 12:06 PM
I've just started woodturning. I thought it could be interesting and fun, but wasn't sure that it would be something that I'd keep doing, so I wanted to minimise my initial costs.

I bought a cheapo lathe from SuperCheap Auto ($135 with AMEX discount) and the $26 set of cheapy turning tools.

Things I've learned:

1) I *really* enjoy woodturning !

2) I can make useful things with what I have bought. I've even started tracking what I've saved and sold against what I spent, and once I break even, it doesn't matter if (when) the cheap lathe dies.

3) The operations that you do regularly. If (when) I buy a next lathe, I'll be able to try out the various locking mechanisms, and compare them to what I've got now.

4) A $135 lathe isn't the best piece of machinery in the world. I've already had the motor die on the first one. There was a no-hassle swap for another new one, but I did go back and retrieve the tailstock from my first lathe, as there was weld spatter on the locking thread, and the tailstock shaft was bent. Again - a trip to the shop, no hassles, and turning again 30 mins later.

5) The motor gets *really* hot. I stick to the 30 mins duty cycle, and have a fan blowing on it when in use.

6) I *really* enjoy woodturning.