PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening

macca2
24th March 2003, 12:03 PM
I have been turning for about 6 months and am finding it a very enjoyable passtime in my retirement. However I am having great difficulty sharpening gouges. I have been to demos, seen videos and bought a cheap $49.00 jig.

All to no avail. I can't get the same grind twice and seem to always end up with a point on the end of the gouge.

Is there an easy way to learn. i.e. books jigs etc or is just a matter of keep trying.

ps. is there a "right" shape or is it personel choice

q9
24th March 2003, 04:31 PM
I bought "Woodturning - A Foundation Course" by Keith Rowley. Everyone under the sun recommended it, and it even got a mention on the Sorbey website. Good enough for me.

He dovotes a fair few pages to sharpening, and if you haven't already got this book, I suggest it would be a good starting point. About $49 from nearly every place that sells turning stuff.

Jean Michel
25th March 2003, 11:54 AM
Hi Macca2,

It is easy, with the videos you watched and the books you have read only the practice is missing now...

You may want to visit my site as soon as it is back online as there was a hacker attack in my server that succeeded. I am using home made jigs and repeatability is very easy after you decided what profile you want...

HTH,
Jean.
Jean Michel (http://www.jeanmichel.org)

splinter
25th March 2003, 05:14 PM
Hi There,
Could someone pleaseadvise me what would be a good set of tools to buy as a beginner. Also what sharpening things will I need and is Huen Pine a good wood to start with as I have a large stack of it which one of my ex-boyfriends left behind.
Thanks, Beryl

q9
25th March 2003, 08:46 PM
Being in the same position as yourself about a year ago, I contacted thewoodsmith.com.au and asked what tools they'd recommend.