PDA

View Full Version : I need the wisdom of this group

ozbeast
18th December 2002, 11:34 AM
This is my first post.
My problerm is this I would like to turn a handle for a cheese knife. AHH simple u might say.
However I am working without a chuck, my GMC lathe came with a face plate and a I suppose u would call it a spindle for doing long thin peices. U are right I am a newbie and dont know enuogh to turn my way out of a wet paper bag ( with hole in it yet).
To date I have turned two bowls ( pine off cuts ) that are excellent for holding paper or plastic plates at a Barbie and a cheese platter out of Honduras mahogany. Hence the desperate need for a knife.

I have tried glueing the stick to my face board ( did not work )

The advice in this group represents the wisdom of the ages to me ( have I sucked up enough yet, have I)

Cheers to all

Tristan Croll
18th December 2002, 12:23 PM
Without having tried this before, here's what I'd do...

Take a drill and carefully drill a 7 mm hole the desired depth into the end of your blank. It might help if you start with a slightly oversized blank, and hold it tightly in a vise. Take a length of 7 mm dowel and insert it down this hole. Hopefully it should be a tight fit. It might help if you sand it a little and wax it to make sure you can get it out again. You'll want approximately 5 (?) cm protruding from the hole. You may need to insert the dowel into a small offcut at the tailstock end to avoid the centre splitting the dowel. Take the whole lot and mount it between centres. Adjust your drive point until the dowel spins true, and turn your handle to the desired shape.

Clear as mud?

There's probably a much simpler way, but that's what springs to mind.

Tristan

ozbeast
18th December 2002, 04:21 PM
(Big Cheesy grin)

Thanks for the info, I will give it a try this arvo and post the result

Matto
18th December 2002, 10:25 PM