PDA

View Full Version : Appreciation

Wongo
31st October 2006, 10:20 PM
As you know I have been tutoring maths ever since I was a uni student. Tonight it came to the end of another student who will sit in his 3 units maths exam tomorrow.

I started working with his 2 years ago. His mum (neightbour) spoke to me be because he needed help. I coached him an hour every week. At the end of year 11 he was awarded the most improved student in the class. At the end of year 12 he is now the top 5 student in the class.

Tonight we had the last lesson. I actually felt a bit emotional about it. Anyway as I was saying goodbye and giving him encouragement, the mother handed over a present to me. I was shocked I didn’t expect it. I made a smart remark by saying “is it the encyclopaedia of wood?”.

No it wasn’t. It is the book about Sam Maloof, it is the book I have been searching for for a long time. I knew that you cannot get it in Australia so they must have ordered it in from the US.

I was so moved and it almost bought tears to my eyes. Well it makes all the work worthwhile.

Happy reading to me. it is a big book.:)

johnc
31st October 2006, 10:26 PM
Wongo,

Makes it all worth while, especially as they have obviously gone to so much trouble to select it for you. I am probably the worlds worst tutor, but I admire anyone who puts the effort in to help give any kid a leg up.

John.

bitingmidge
31st October 2006, 10:29 PM
Congratulations Scott!!

I think it's fantastic when someone recognises the value of a person to that sort of extent, it's a credit to them as well as you!

Cheers,

P:cool:

scooter
1st November 2006, 12:46 AM
Great story, Scott, what goes around comes around. :)

Cheers..................Sean

silentC
1st November 2006, 08:36 AM
I had my dog tutored a few months ago. He thought he was getting neutered. Or was that the other way around?

On ya Scott. What's the square root of 4,567,234,533,333,123,900.03? No Googling. :p

Wongo
1st November 2006, 08:54 AM