PDA

View Full Version : Quiet in here

kiwigeo
4th November 2006, 01:40 AM
Getting a bit quiet in here..apart from a nitro post.

Everyone obviously in the workshop furiously knocking up guitars.

Grant, hopefully youre furiously slaving over a hot bending iron knocking out some exquisitely bent ribs.

Seven weeks now away on the job and Im chomping at the bit to get back to the workshop.

Cheers Martin

Malibu
4th November 2006, 06:52 AM
I'm a busy boy sanding the inside back; I don't have any fingerprints left, but who cares? The back plate is smoooooooth!

With the week off work, I'll be settling in for some time in the workshop... Maybe work a bit on a drum sander as CB suggested but first things first.. CLEAN UP!!! :D

Ford announced yesterday that they'll put 600 jobs under the knife, and since I work in the car industry and Ford is our main customer... who knows, maybe it'll be an extended week off? Any room on that workshop-less platform, Martin? ;)

Ok, here's one for you guys.. I'm pondering over the finish for my archtop (a long way off, but I like to think ahead). For a solid body, I'd try out the Nitro, but for an archtop I was thinking a couple of coats inside with Shellac and the outside; well, not so sure there... I've tried french polish once before and that (re: I) was a dismal failure, but I like the look and feel of FP. Somewhere I read about someone using aircraft "dope" to coat their guitar, but it wasn't a completed project so there was no finished comments on it, but it seemed a fair idea. Any suggestions on a good finish other than the Benedetto book suggestions?

John

contrebasse
4th November 2006, 07:58 AM
I like french polish but it takes a warm workshop, patience, elbow grease, and a dab of linseed oil at the right time ... practice on something useful but not critical, like a blackbutt picture frame for mum for christmas ...

zenobia
4th November 2006, 10:56 AM