PDA

View Full Version : Steel cutter

RobP
5th November 2006, 12:41 PM
Greetings all
I have a lot of cuts to make in 32mm square, 2mm wall thickness aluminium tube. Is the Triton Steel Cutter suitable for this work or is there a better alternative?
Thanks
Rob

Felder
5th November 2006, 12:57 PM
Sit tight, RobP.

If no other forum member can answer your question, you'll just have to wait till "Stuart." sees this post. I seem to recall him demo-ing the steel cutter at the Victorian Timber & Working With Wood Show a few weeks ago. ;)

Grahame Collins
5th November 2006, 02:55 PM
For that size stock a decent size circular saw with a TC blade is a very cost effective unit placed along side of the Triton.

Before the flames from the Triton philes arrive, I would like to point out that my background is that of a metal fabber.
Having a unit that will only cut 90 or 45 angles is about as useful as a screen door in a submarine.I would want my $500 machine to do more than cut 45s and 90s.

Check out the ali fab places .They all use compound mitre saws with TC blades for docking and cutting stock to angles.

If you ahave heaps to do make yourself a cutting jig out of solid ply.Much cheaper especcially if you already have your own saw.Special TC blades are available for aluminium but I think you may get by with a wood version.
Caution note here.watch the little Ali flakes that come off the cut they can float about in the air and get into all sorts of places.Full PPE required OK!
My 2c worth
Grahame

Stuart
5th November 2006, 10:48 PM
The Triton steel cutter would love it, and do it easily. Of course Grahame does offer a workable alternative, but the Steel Cutter was designed for just this sort of work - consistent, easy, safe. The adjustable stop makes repetative cuts a breeze.

Because it is Al and not steel, you will need to clear the blade of buildup every dozen cuts or so - easily done - have a piece of mild steel RHS nearby and make a cut into that to clean the blade.