PDA

View Full Version : all manner of questions (and intro first post)

Twinnie
16th November 2006, 08:25 PM
g'day all i'm matt (looks around at angry people brandishing wood turning tools, kidding)

since like most of you i'll be living here i thaught i'd tell you about my self :cool:

i think that at 20 i am the youngest member of this fourum? and i have been turning for a couple of years now on whats now become a rather inadiquate lathe a little 40 kg sherwood which i stand of from time to time and ride from one side of the garage to the other while roughing out bits that are realy too big for it. one of those blocks of wood became the bowl in this photo

and talking of the wood in that photo do any of you know what it is? i picked it up from a tree dumping ground and i have no idea apart from it's a eucalipt.

thanks for not atacking me you may go back to your turnings now :D

Matt

dai sensei
16th November 2006, 08:34 PM
Welcome aboard Matt.

Definately younger members around. Cruise the threads and you will see a lot of talent here amongst the youngsters.

Twinnie
16th November 2006, 08:38 PM
thanks

good to hear i'm not the youngest, i'll have to have a look around.

thefixer
16th November 2006, 09:52 PM
Welcome Matt

My 14 year old son and I have found that it is not the quality of lathe that counts but the quality of work that you can turn out with what you have got. We have been learning a great deal together for only a few months now with the cheapest and nastiest lathe available. But it has been the best quality time we have ever spent together. As my dad always told me "it's not the stick thats at fault, it's the monkey on the end of it" And we have been able to make some pretty good stuff on our el cheapo considering our lack of experience.
Please show us some of your work.

Cheers
Shorty & Jack

joe greiner
17th November 2006, 12:02 AM