PDA

View Full Version : Another way to mount a bowl blank.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
22nd November 2006, 10:55 PM
A while back, when Dingo was having troubles mounting bowls, I was going to post a few pix of various chucking techniques but, for various reasons, didn't get around to it and, I think, others have shown him how to mount a bowl blank since.

However today I had a bit of time to kill so I started playing with an oddment which is an awkward shape to mount normally (either by chuck or faceplate) and perfect for mounting on an odd li'l jigger I have (and have no idea what 'tis called... I call it a "wedgie chuck." :o) I'd just made a start when thought "I should take pix of this so Dingo can see another way of doing it..." (Photos of this "wedgie chuck" are in this post. (http://www.woodworkforums.com/showpost.php?p=364246&postcount=27))

So 'ere ya go, Ding! :)

Pic 1 shows the odd-shaped log I was mounting, as ya can see I've simply drilled a hole in it with a spade-bit to fit the attachment into. 'Tis just under 1" diameter by around 3" deep.

The attachment is simply fitted in, the socket spanner used to tighten it up until it don't tighten no more, (Pic 2) then the whole kit'n'kaboodle mounted on the lathe. (Pic 3) It's turnable from hereon in, however I brought up the tailstock for safety's sake and roughed the outside first. I don't have to mention that it's all well'n'truly out of balance so it should be turned with the lathe on it's slowest speed setting, do I? ;) Or that the lathe will shake, rattle and roll until some blank has been removed?

Because it wouldn't be possible to remount the piece like this later so I could remove a stub and, or turn the foot (not easily, anyway) I decided to turn the foot now, using a mortise instead of a stub so it can be mounted on the chuck in expansion mode. (Pics 4 & 5)

Skew ChiDAMN!!
22nd November 2006, 11:11 PM
Don't know what I mean by "expansion mode?" Here's how I reverse mounted it. (Pic 1)