PDA

View Full Version : drilling lead

jonnyp1
30th November 2006, 05:38 AM
i need to drill some deep, over 1 foot, and wide upto 1" plus holes into solid lead. the lead is not moveable so i need to drill it in situ. can i do it with standard electric drill? and what type of bit would i use. any help most appreciated.

Harry72
30th November 2006, 09:13 AM
I make this stuff for a living!

You can try drilling but it will self feed and need massive amounts of torque.
What type of lead is it, hard or soft?(it can contain As, Sb, Cu or Zn to increase hardness)
I can think of 3 way's you could make a hole like that,
1. some sort of reaming tool.
2. Bash a 1" piece of bar stock through it.(ie: using a jackhammer)
3. Melt a hole, you only need 320degC to start melting pure lead. An oxy cuts it better than a hot knife in butter... wear a respirator and keep the tip away from the dripping lead or she'll go pop!(scare the bejeesus out of you)

soundman
1st December 2006, 12:16 AM
..........Why?:confused: ..... just curious:D

Schtoo
1st December 2006, 01:01 AM
Spade bit?

BobL
1st December 2006, 01:44 AM
Chapman in Workshop Techology inidcates that bits with many more twists that are used for steel are needed to drill lead. Presumably these allow the drill to cut as well as self feeding. Where you get these from I have no idea.

bsrlee
1st December 2006, 09:28 PM
Sounds almost like a wood auger bit for the higher rate of twist. Possibly in a brace type hand drill for torque. Or one of the old 'blacksmith's' portable hand drill presses.

I've tried drilling into tin/lead alloy, and you have to go fairly slow, otherwise the heat at the cutting edge will melt the lead and it then effectively solders the bit into the lump of metal being drilled - its a good way to break bits & its a PITA to get them out too.

joe greiner
1st December 2006, 11:50 PM