PDA

View Full Version : Band Saw Blade Drift

pigoo3
10th December 2006, 03:22 AM
Hello,

1st post for me.

I saw that there was a fairly recent topic posted relating to band saw blade drifting or wandering...not sure if my problem is the same.

I have a pretty low-end bandsaw from Taiwan...so I know that it is not the finest quality wood-working tool out there.

My problem is the inability to make straight cuts...even fairy short cuts of a few inches or centimeters.

I am using a fence when doing these cuts...and invariabily...the band saw blade will "pull" the wood away from the fence, making it impossible to follow the straight pencil line I have drawn on the wood...or to stay snug against the fence.

It almost seems like the band saw blade is twisting...or that the blade is not parallel to the fence.

I know that the blade is parallel to the fence (checked it)...and blade tension is tight.

I have been woodworking for about 30 years...and I have never had this problem with other band saws.

Any ideas on what is causing this, or how it can be fixed?

Thanks,

- Nick

ozwinner
10th December 2006, 09:07 AM
I have the same problem with my cheap band saw, I dont use the fence any more in fact I dont even know where the fence is.

Mine cuts to the right, so I clamped a piece of ply to the table at the same angle that the blade pulls at, crued but it works.

There is also a post by about a sled that you can screw the timber to, so as to get consistent cuts.

Al :)

DJ’s Timber
10th December 2006, 09:13 AM
Have you adjusted your guide blocks or bearings above and below the table. Every time you change a blade you need to adjust these to suit the blade.

As for the wood pulling away from the fence, the fence dosen't necessarily have to be parallel to the blade. The fence should be set to follow the direction of cut.