PDA

View Full Version : dumb question

ciscokid
10th December 2006, 06:04 AM
If one were building exotic hardwood guitar amplifiers, would this be the correct place on these forums to post or should I be in the Hi-Fi section?

Iain
10th December 2006, 07:36 AM
I thought this would be OK as guitar amps are not hi fi as such, however, others may disagree.
What exotics are you talking anyway and are you talking about the electronics or the cabinetry?

ciscokid
10th December 2006, 08:15 AM
I thought this would be OK as guitar amps are not hi fi as such, however, others may disagree.
What exotics are you talking anyway and are you talking about the electronics or the cabinetry?

Well, actually, both. I've been playing guitars for 32 years now. I'm mostly partial to big archtop electrics and have some rather nice ones. I grew disgusted with the quality of new amps on the market, specially the so-called "Reissues" which are not really reissues of anything at all since the new ones are being made with mass produced Chinese PC boards. I realize the companies have to do this to cut manufacturing costs and boost profit, but it doesn't mean I have to like it. There are some rather nice boutique amps out there being hand made and they have price tags that are rather boutique themselves.