PDA

View Full Version : New to the Musical Instruments Forum, 1st Guitar WIP

JackG
29th December 2006, 11:44 PM
Hi all,
I am new to the MI forum but not new to WW Forums, I generally do some furniture as a hobby.
I saw Lynn Dodebusel (or something like that) making a guitar on Hand made music on the How To chanel I decided to have a go.

I red Cumpiano's book, gathered fair a bit of info from the net, had a good chat with Gerard Gillet, made some plans and just before christmas I have started my 1st guitar.

It is a hybrid classical loosely using Torres shape with a cutaway and 7 fan braces, bolt on neck, 20" rounded fingerboard, truss rod, cedar soundboard, wallnut sides and back, mahogany neck... not exactly a standard. :)

The construction is pretty standard with an outside mold, bent the sides on a hot pipe and hot air gun, I use a mixture of machine and hand tools, couldnt do without my small belt sander, Small drum sander was a wise investment and the bandsaw gets a workout, also a dremel for rosette and other jobs.

I really love woodworking, I generally do it in periods and I do 2 or 3 large projects per year but I must say building an accoustic guitar is something else. I have an incredible fun, I really enjoy my time in the shed.
I sort of went away from the hand work and used a lot of machinery (Working Jarrah on hand tools aint much fun) but building the guitar really makes me use the hand tools a lot, the work is very tactile, feeling the sides bend under your fingers is priceless and scalopping the braces is just divine :)
I must say in 6 days in the shed my skills and understanding of the wood have tremendously increased.

Anayway enought talk, here are some pics of WIP, if humidity is acceptable tomorrow I will finish the bracing of the soundboard and close the box.
Pls dont get too picky on the cleanliness, everything is to shape but all needs a final touch, cleanup and fine sanding.

JackG
29th December 2006, 11:46 PM
More pics

Shedhand