PDA

View Full Version : New turner's sixth bowl

OGYT
30th December 2006, 02:50 PM
I have a friend named Harold, that has been coming over to my shop and is learning to turn, using Old Griz. :2tsup: I don't think I'm a very good teacher, since I still need to be taught too, but he will be purchasing his first lathe in another month or two. (He's hooked. It makes two of us in about a 120 mile area.) :D
I'm going to turn him on to this forum tomorrow at the fire station, where he can use a public computer. He's located other woodturning sites, and I want him to get involved with this one.
This bowl is the sixth piece that he has turned. He asked me to take a quick pic of it and get some critiques.
It is from Spalted Magnolia. About 20cm diameter X 15cm tall.
Finish is Danish Oil. It's not cured yet, so it's not been buffed.
Please give him some constructive criticism, so he can continue to learn. Thanks.
Sorry about the pics being so poorly done.:-

ss_11000
30th December 2006, 04:02 PM
wow. what a great peice of timber.
he's done well, i find deep bowls can be hard to keep it real smooth ( because of overhang off the tool rest ), and it looks like he's done it well.
i also like the form.

DJ’s Timber
30th December 2006, 04:08 PM
I reckon he has done a great job of getting a good clean finish on that, as a deep bowl is harder to finish on the inside.

Don't particularly like the shape, looks too top heavy, maybe 5cm shorter would be better

Skew ChiDAMN!!
30th December 2006, 04:10 PM
Mmmm... that's one nice piece of timber!

Critique? From the photos I couldn't see any obvious tool-marks, so I'd say he has his tool technique down pat and it's a nice finish for all that it hasn't been buffed. :) I imagine he managed a constant wall thickness? Can't tell from photos.