PDA

View Full Version : need advice on Msn

SPIRIT
31st December 2006, 10:17 PM
have a teenager who wants to put msn (chat room for friends) on computer
is it safe?ect :shifty:

Wood Butcher
31st December 2006, 10:25 PM
So long as you monitor who she is talking to - it might be okay.

I use it regularly to contact other people that I am studying with at uni and some of my long distance friends but I am very computer literate so I know what to watch out for. The bigest advantage is that people must be invited into the conversation (they are not public like some chat rooms) but it doesn't take huge amounts of effort to harvest emails if someone really wants to. Best to use a virtual email like yahoo or hotmail for MSN not your email given to you by your ISP as at least if you get targetted by spamers it is easy to dump the affected email address and create a new one.

My advice is to try it, making sure that your kids knows about responsible usage and what to look out for in regards to unwanted advances from others.

SPIRIT
31st December 2006, 10:36 PM
thanks. l mite be over protective the creeps worry me if l can't grab them by the neck is there a fee we looked at the site they talked about charges:?

Wood Butcher
31st December 2006, 10:48 PM
MSN doesn't cost anything. Go to www.messenger.msn.com for the download.

One thing to be wary of is when it is being installed read everything!!!!

Make sure that there are no boxes ticked that will allow the program to install unwanted extras into your web browsers etc.

SPIRIT
31st December 2006, 10:54 PM
thanks butcher have bite the bullet sometime shes getting older 13 going 30:)

womble
1st January 2007, 08:34 AM
have a teenager who wants to put msn (chat room for friends) on computer
is it safe?ect :shifty:

not really safe, lots of stats around showing there's a lot of predators out there who use things like msn to groom potential victims. They can be very good at what they do