PDA

View Full Version : which drill press?

Arch Stanton
15th January 2007, 11:13 PM
I am in the process of getting some tools together to tackle my new hobby, woodwork.

I haven't built anything yet but I intend on making chairs, tables, household furniture etc.

One thing I know I need is a drill press. But which one?

I usually like to get something good but being a novice I don't appreciate the finer points of drill presses and am leaning towards the cheapest I can get at Bunnings.

I expect I will be drilling some mdf and hardwoods, no metal. I don't anticipate any crazy sizes. I want something that will drill a straight hole compared to my crooked holes produce with a hand drill.

Can someone tell me why this might not be a good idea and why I should spend a bit more money on something else.

Big Shed
15th January 2007, 11:30 PM
Arch,

I have a Radial Arm floor standing drill press and find this the most useful, not only can it be wound backwards and forwards, but it can can be tilted sideways for angles drilling

Look here:

http://www.timbecon.com.au/products/drill-presses-360_0.aspx

Not endorsing Timbecon, mine is a Sherwood from Mitre 10, but it is the only picture I could find:)

martrix
15th January 2007, 11:35 PM
...........dont waste your money on any bunni%%s crud:doh: ..

Spend a couple more dollars on something decent (http://www.hareandforbes.com.au/sample_2/Catalogues/Woodworking/21.html).:wink:

Arch Stanton
16th January 2007, 12:05 AM
Thanks guys,

Matrix, I know there is probably plenty of reasons not to buy the budget tools but what are they?

Will they fall apart quickly?

Won't they drill straight?

Or do they just have less features?

Big Shed, the radial arm sounds good and it sounds like you get to take advantage of it's ability. I can't see my self needing those features but then I have got a lot to learn about woodwork.