PDA

View Full Version : Learner

Sarge
3rd June 2003, 07:25 AM
Hi guys....(and Girls)

I have just purchased a lathe for the first time, I have never used one before and am in need of lots of training and advice.

Firstly, what is the best book to buy that will teach me all I need to know, well at least most of what I need to know ??

Secondly, whats the best wood to practice with, would it be pine, nice and cheap and plenty of off cut around my shed, or should I practice with some thing else ??

Thirdly, I purchased a set of six Record chisels, obviously I don't know how to use them yet, for my standard, beginner, is this everything I need ??

All advice is most welcome

Thanks

JackoH
3rd June 2003, 10:27 AM
Get some lessons.Or at least join a club.PLEASE! (See links on this B.B.or try :-Eltham & District Woodworkers
PO Box 701
(03)9439 7088 Eltham 3095 )
Also lots of discussion over the years, and lots of advice in the archives.
:D

arose62
3rd June 2003, 11:11 AM
My first half-dozen turnings were all pine bits-n-pieces.

The very first thing I turned started out just to be a round bit of wood, as I learned what a roughing gouge did. Then, I sort of turned it into a mallet, and 4 revisions later, it's one of the most used tools I have !

I use it to thump the drive centre into bits of wood, to tap turnings into a jam chuck, to fit handles onto tools, etc. etc.

Pine also makes OK toilet roll holders, and paper towel holders, and even (lightweight) gavels.

I suggest you read up on 1) "rubbing the bevel", and 2) sharpening.

Cheers,
Andrew

barnsey
3rd June 2003, 11:17 AM
G'day Sarge,

I was lucky - my old man taught me the basics, but those lessons have I know stopped me from doing myself a mischief on several occasions so a few lessons is excellent advice either through a club or one of the reputable tutors.