PDA

View Full Version : Mini Jet heating problem- help please

Touchwood
28th January 2007, 06:28 PM
Recently I bought myself a mini jet lathe (not variable speed, alter speed by changing the belts). After waiting patiently until my birthday to open it I was disappointed and worried about how hot the wheel, the threaded bit for the face plate and the head stock got in less time than it takes to turn a pen.

As a cooking teacher my hands are use to handling hot things - these areas were getting too hot to hold. So I took it back - result - "the bearings must be stuffed" so they were replaced and "we ran it for hours and its fine."

Guess What - before I finish a pen the wheel, and all parts to the morse taper bit of the pen mandrel are so hot you can not hold onto them. I am not a slow pen turner, I'm turning wood, the lathe is on full speed.

Help please other Jet owners before I lose the plot - do your lathes get that hot? Any ideas on what it could be so I can take it back again and get them looking in the right place!!!:no:

Jenny

Dan
28th January 2007, 06:39 PM
Does it still heat up if you run it without a blank or mandrel loaded in it?

Touchwood
28th January 2007, 06:45 PM
As I'm waiting for some glue to dry I'll go and try that ( as I don't usually turn it on with nothing in it) and see.... back soon

Jenny:2tsup:

Touchwood
28th January 2007, 06:52 PM
Yes, ran it for about 3 mins and, while it was warm to start with as I'd just been using it, in 3 mins it was once again too hot to comfortably hold onto.

JD

Barry_White
28th January 2007, 07:04 PM
I have turned as many as 8 pens on the trot and mine doesn't get that hot. In fact when I am sanding I lean my forearm on the head above the bearing without any problem.