PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding salt tollerance of commercially important timbers...

Shinken Kami
2nd February 2007, 04:59 AM
Hey forums!

This is probably a real odd ball question, and although I am new to the forums I would be grateful for any and all responses (that are helpful...) I joined the forums recently foremost because of my passion for woodwork, although I am an amateur at the beginning of my journey. I have been hanging around and reading since atleast the most excellent capers with the Clamp orders. If you are allergic to long, long posts, then turn back now. Otherwise, please be prepared for some unapologetic waffle…

I am a university student, completing honours in physics and mathematics with interests in environmental science, energy and engineering and have throughout my life been proactive in being both conservative and protective of the environment.

Getting closer to the crux of the matter… I have purchased approximately 300 acres of the most salt blasted and eroded countryside that I could procure with the remuneration of part time employ and scholarship (actually, it was the cheapest land in I could find, just east south east of Lake Grace in WA.) My short term goal is to use the land for research in order to complete PhDs in the environmental sciences and engineering, and from there use it to produce meaningful research, build a home, raise my family etc...