PDA

View Full Version : help needed holding green wood for turning

starr
7th February 2007, 01:12 PM
I have been trying to turn green wood. The first bowl I turned a tenon on the end to hold in my Nova chuck but a small dig in caused the whole tenon to rip off.

The next bowl I held with a faceplate, but found that the screws loosen quickly and the piece starts wobbling on the lathe. I tried longer screws and it was better, but it still wobbled after a little turning and I have to keep tightening the screws and they seem to lose their holding power in the wet wood.

What is the secret I am missing?

Tomislav
9th February 2007, 05:00 PM
Hi
I have found the more agressive jaws useful. I ahve the 75mm spigot jaws and they have a lot of grip. Perhaps the wood is a tad too green. But I am a newbie, and still learning..

Skew ChiDAMN!!
9th February 2007, 07:45 PM
It sounds like you may be using the wrong screws. If the screws are working loose in the timber then either your screws are too short or they have too fine a thread. Try using shanked particle-board screws and see if they're any better. I heartily recommend drilling pilot holes for them though... they're not the strongest screw in the world. :wink: (Do make sure they're a nice fit in your faceplate, too! ie. no "side slop" in the hole!)

Another possibility is to glue a sacrificial piece to the end of your blank to screw into instead, something that will hold the screws well. I've used both Hot-melt or PVA glue with success. Turn the inside of your bowl, reverse mount and remove the sacrificial piece when you turn the foot. Easy.

Depending on just how green the timber is, as well as the type of timber, you may need to wash down the surface to be glued in a solvent first, so the glue can adhere.

Yet another method: have you had any experience with making Jam Chucks?

ss_11000
9th February 2007, 07:53 PM
Turn the inside of your bowl, reverse mount and remove the sacrificial piece when you turn the foot. Easy.