PDA

View Full Version : Orbital and Band sanders

hoarenet
13th June 2003, 09:27 AM
Does anyone have any experience of Orbital sanders or Band sanders for smoothing old floor boards. The house I'm renovating was built about 300years ago and the floor boards are oak nailed to 10cm X 10cm joists. There is some surface damage to some areas but the boards are mainly OK. I have no experience of these type of sanders and have only used a small vibrating sander in the past which would obviously be inapropriate for this job. I have attached a picture of the boards.

Trevor Hoare

Sir Stinkalot
13th June 2003, 03:14 PM
Make sure you punch those nails or expect a big sandpaper bill.

Toymaker Len
13th June 2003, 06:21 PM
If the boards are really old you should not touch them ! Imagine destroying an ancient patina for the joy of having a new looking floor in an old house. Go and buy a 1950s cottage and sand bits of it.

Glen Bridger
13th June 2003, 08:08 PM
DON"T USE A HAND HELD BELT SANDER.

Apart from the fact it's hard yakka, your knees will ache and your back will end up so sore you'll hardly be able to stand.
Then when you finish the floor with a gloss clear finish you get to see the full effect of the snake trails you have created with the belt sander.
My reaction was "crap, look at that". (Or words to that effect).
And I only touched up the floors after filling the nail holes and the gaps between the boards. I did the bulk of the sanding with a proper floor sander.

Some lessons are hard learnt.

Glen

HIRE A FLOOR SANDER

or someone to do it.

hoarenet
13th June 2003, 10:08 PM
Thanks to all who posted replies to my question about sanders. I have now had a rethink about the whole task of cleaning up the floorboards.

Doorstop. Thanks for the info about timber type. I think you’re right in the boards are pine and it was a belt sander I was meaning.