PDA

View Full Version : which electric welder to get

crookedcut
17th February 2007, 12:25 PM
Hi...I am new to this great forum...have browsed this forum alot and have finally decided to register and contribute...I cannot contribute to this metalworking forum as yet as I am a virgin to this...woodworking is my hobby...but have decided to expand and try some metal working..welding and cutting for jigs and such..I have no metal working tools so I would like a few ideas...just at a beginners cost if you would...no bells and whistles just want it to work WELL....TIA

martrix
17th February 2007, 12:39 PM
Hi...I am new to this great forum...have browsed this forum alot and have finally decided to register and contribute...I cannot contribute to this metalworking forum as yet as I am a virgin to this...woodworking is my hobby...but have decided to expand and try some metal working..welding and cutting for jigs and such..I have no metal working tools so I would like a few ideas...just at a beginners cost if you would...no bells and whistles just want it to work WELL....TIA
Hi Crooked, as a woodworker it is a huge bonus to be able to weld.

In my opinion, a MIG welder is most suitable as its unlikely that you will weld steel thicker than 1/2" and a MIG produces a nice clean weld with no slag to chip off. I think you should be able to get a decent 130-160amp gas MIG in the U.S. for under US$500. Get one that uses Argon gas, which is an extra cost but well worth it.

I recommend you read a book or two on the subject to get educated first before buying anything.

echnidna
17th February 2007, 01:38 PM
A mig might be nice but is far more expensive to buy and run than a simple Arc Welder.

My ex Son inlaw was a boilermaker and has always had a stick welder, his opiinion was that MIG wasn't worth the hassle & expense at home

So for someone new just doing it as a hobby I would just use an Arc Welder.
I have had an arc welder since I was a teenager over 40 years ago.