PDA

View Full Version : Unusual finish

delz
20th February 2007, 06:32 AM
This is totally a newbie question, as I have little experience with woodstaining. Im looking to create an effect whereby the darker grain is darkened to black and the lighter grain is lightened to white if possible. I then plan to finish the wood to a high gloss. Ive spent hours trawling the web with no real success.

I have seen this effect done before on guitars with black and red but never black and white, and Im looking for any advice that may help me achive this.

Im planning to use this effect on a homebuilt pine cabinate for my amp, unusual sounding i know but thats the idea.

Many thanks:2tsup:

willie
20th February 2007, 02:52 PM
This is totally a newbie question, as I have little experience with woodstaining. Im looking to create an effect whereby the darker grain is darkened to black and the lighter grain is lightened to white if possible. I then plan to finish the wood to a high gloss. Ive spent hours trawling the web with no real success.

I have seen this effect done before on guitars with black and red but never black and white, and Im looking for any advice that may help me achive this.

Im planning to use this effect on a homebuilt pine cabinate for my amp, unusual sounding i know but thats the idea.

Many thanks:2tsup:

What wood are you using? From what you say, I would guess that this effect is used with open grain woods like mahogany.
In this case all I know is that there is a big difference in the order in which you seal the wood, use filler (with stain added to it or neutral) and then stain.

For example. You can add stain to the raw wood. Sand it back lightly. The stain will remain in the endgrain but not in the rest. You can then restain in a lighter colour. The endgrain will remain much darker. (sealing with shellac or similair before restaining will also alter the effect)
OR