PDA

View Full Version : Which Forstner Bit

iron bark
21st February 2007, 10:44 AM
Morning all,

I am very new to turning and am teaching myself slowly - I did a couple of S & P grinders from cedar the other day and am still a bit unsure of the drilling - what is the best type of forstner bit to purchase - saw tooth or other:( ?

I got one saw tooth (38mm), and find it gets very hot whilst drilling - almost to the point of bluing - am I drilling too fast, or using the wrong type of bit or both?

Would appreciate any advice from all that experience out there.

Is there a turner group on the Sushine Coast??

Cheers,

Ned

DJ’s Timber
21st February 2007, 10:59 AM
Saw tooth is for endgrain whilst the other type is for crossgrain.

For a 38mm bit you would be needing to go at about 300 to 400 rpm and a nice slow feed rate. It won't really make much difference to it getting really hot as there is a hell of alot of friction in there.

Slow and steady does it and you'll be right

Edit more info

I also use my airgun to blow out the shavings as well

Gra
21st February 2007, 11:02 AM
forstner bits like to be inserted slowly, and a slow speed, basically as with turning, the bigger the lump, the slower you make it go round...

I usually set my lathe to its slowest speed, and clear the chips regularly. (Oh thats is the other important part, bring the bit out of the work on a regular basis, to help clear the chips out of the work)..

Good luck and show us some pics, remember it hasn't happened if there are no pics :D

Rum Pig
21st February 2007, 11:32 AM
I am very new to Turning like you I don’t know much about the different types of Forstner bits:wink: but I do know that if you give them a quick sharpen before each use they do cut a lot easier and do not burn:) .<O:p</O:p
Apart from that I agree with what the rest say about slow and steady and withdrawing it regular to clear the waste:D .<O:p</O:p