PDA

View Full Version : Hello, Im new here and need help.

RulesTwin
3rd March 2007, 04:41 AM
First let me say i just found the site and im enjoying it so far. Great work to the owner.

People call me Rulestwin or just RT for short. Wood turning has always interested me and I try to catch all the TV shows on it when ever I can.

I have been interested in the topic of wood turning for a while now but never went out and bought a lathe.

Now I found two I have to choose from and need help telling me which one would be better for me. Now please keep in mind im just starting out and im looking at this as just a starter lathe. Down the road if I find this topic just as interesting as I do now I will upgrade to a better one.

I just dont know what one would be better. One has more speeds and the other has a bigger motor. One has a reverseable head and the other doesnt. They both have good and bad options. So please your info would help greatly.

Thanks

RT

Lathe 1: http://www.harborfreightusa.com/usa/...ateg oryName= (http://www.harborfreightusa.com/usa/itemdisplay/displayItem.do?itemid=45276&CategoryName=&SubCategoryName=)

Lathe 2: http://www.harborfreightusa.com/usa/...ateg oryName= (http://www.harborfreightusa.com/usa/itemdisplay/displayItem.do?itemid=34706&CategoryName=&SubCategoryName=)

hughie
3rd March 2007, 10:48 AM
I just dont know what one would be better. One has more speeds and the other has a bigger motor. One has a reverseable head and the other doesnt. They both have good and bad options. So please your info would help greatly.

RT,
It kinda depends on what you want to turn. But having said that always look at the power and capacity. The swivel head is a plus that is very handy for doing large platters or bowls.

So for me, I always go for the most power and capacity for my buck. This gives you the flexibilty to turn pens, basball bats or bowls etc.

Also it gives you more time before you have to upgrade.

lubbing5cherubs
3rd March 2007, 10:54 AM