PDA

View Full Version : How'd he do this???

Designsync
21st March 2007, 04:23 PM
Any idea how Mr Weissflog carved this?

Rookie
21st March 2007, 04:56 PM
Carefully????

I dunno. I'm still learning what a spindle is. :?

Jim Carroll
21st March 2007, 05:22 PM
He turns it with a lot of off centre turning and jigs to hold in place.

And also carefully.

DJ’s Timber
21st March 2007, 05:41 PM
and with a lot of patience too I would say

Skew ChiDAMN!!
21st March 2007, 05:46 PM
Do you know how to make/use jam chucks?

I've tried my hand at similar before... and you don't want to see the results. Trust me. :D

Hambone
21st March 2007, 06:14 PM
Hi,
At a quick guess I think the wood is Cocobollo and the engraving has been done with a Nova Ornamental Turner or similar. Not often I am right so I am probably wrong again.

Ron

Designsync
21st March 2007, 08:04 PM
Ah.....Nova OT and Jam Chuck!!!???? Skew, I've used Jam chuck for finishing bowl bottoms but how would you safely secure a half sphere, or a bowl side, in a jam chuck.

Salty
21st March 2007, 09:37 PM
Should be HANDLED with care to!!:o . We had Mike Lee from Hawaii come and talk to our Club and he very kindly bought along the piece shown below. Disaster struck when a member of the audience (no names - no pack drill ) literally pulled the thing apart:disgust1:
Cost the Club over $4000.00 to reimburse Mike as thay were going to give the proceeds of it's sale to the victims of the New Orleans Hurricane.
As to how they are turned - It's a mystery to me. Especially with this one as it would have been very out of balance with a bug chunk off to the side that Mike later carved and textured. Brilliant piece:specool:

rsser
21st March 2007, 09:41 PM
How'd he do it? Simple ... turned a whole one and cut it in half.

Tony Morton
21st March 2007, 09:58 PM
Hi All