PDA

View Full Version : natural vs stabilized

Roll Tide
2nd April 2007, 05:05 AM
Since I'm still a wondering newbie I've got a question about natural wood and stabilized. Do you have to treat each one different? Are there any different preperations?

Thanks,
Steve

lubbing5cherubs
2nd April 2007, 08:39 AM
thanks steve. i am interested in the too because I am not sure what stabalized even is. So i look forward to your reply
Toni

Roll Tide
2nd April 2007, 08:50 AM
Toni,
From what I understand is that they impregnate the wood with a resin. It smells like a fiberglass resin to me. I'm just wondering do you have to treat each one a little differently.

Thanks,
Steve

Jude A
2nd April 2007, 11:44 AM
Stabilized is excatly like it sounds it is stablized by pressing resin into the grains of the wood /usualy with a pressure pot/ ya use this method for very soft,splintery wood or some burl. It is turned like normal resin peices /lots of white shaving/ and finish like a plastic blank. The couple times I have done these typs of wood it was tricky / I used red palm which I found out I am allergic to/ Just take it slow and steady and do not force it.
Jude

PenTurner
2nd April 2007, 02:37 PM
What does apressure pot look like, what is it??? Amos

DJ’s Timber
2nd April 2007, 02:44 PM
Amos, I think you will find that they are talking about a pressure pot that's use for spray painting.

You fill it with whatever medium you're using to stabilize the blank with, then pressurize the pot with compressed air and leave it till the blank sits in the bottom of the pot

old dog
2nd April 2007, 03:26 PM
Amos you can buy a ten ltr paint pressure pot from Super cheap

scooter
2nd April 2007, 03:30 PM
Amos, I think you will find that they are talking about a pressure pot that's use for spray painting.

You fill it with whatever medium you're using to stabilize the blank with, then pressurize the pot with compressed air and leave it till the blank sits in the bottom of the pot