PDA

View Full Version : Gday gday

lucas_wallis
9th April 2007, 06:48 PM
Hi there,

I am new to woodworking / this forum, hopefully you guys can help me out....looks like a lot of info, so sorry if its been covered already.

I am making a gate at home, basically I am ready to start and want to build the frame which is just two pieces of wood for the side and another two that make up the top and bottom of the gate.

I want to mortice the two top pieces into the vertical pieces, there are going to be some tounge and groove boards that will fill in the middle of the gate later on, but for now I need to route a channel up the middle of the 35mm (my hardwood is 90x35mm) edge.

Is there a common jig setup for this, I only have a plunge router and the bit that I have is skinnier than the width of the tongue and groove boards so I figure I will have to shift the jig to finish the groove. I am on a bit of a budget, so I can't really afford another router bit at the moment that is the correct width.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

Nathan

Skew ChiDAMN!!
9th April 2007, 08:19 PM
Have you got a bolt-on fence for your router? No need for a jig then...

I'd just clamp a dressed pine stud flush to each side of the face you want to rout (purely to add some width to keep the router stable... 35mm is a bit narrow for comfort) and then adjusting the fence to cut a shallow rebate along centre line of the piece. Rout it out in several passes... only a few mm deep each time until you get to the depth you want. (Thin router bits tend to overheat and break easily so don't expect it to hog out quickly! :wink:)

Then tap the fence in just a mm or so and widen the rebate by running the router through with the fence on one side of the work, then another pass with the fence on t'other. This will ensure the rebate is always centred on the job.

Repeat until you've crept up to the width of rebate you want.

lucas_wallis
9th April 2007, 09:16 PM
Hey,