PDA

View Full Version : Peg and green wood turning

woodwork wally
14th April 2007, 10:11 PM
Hi I am new to green wood turning and peg . I have obtained about 15 litres of peg on ebay but no instructions or spec sheet . the drum is looking sad so firstly can it be stored in plastic [clean] plaster drums
also can anyone advise the proceedure for treating green wood with peg . thanks for any help given and regards to all Wally:B

Skew ChiDAMN!!
14th April 2007, 10:28 PM
Hi I am new to green wood turning and peg . I have obtained about 15 litres of peg on ebay but no instructions or spec sheet . the drum is looking sad so firstly can it be stored in plastic [clean] plaster drums
also can anyone advise the proceedure for treating green wood with peg . thanks for any help given and regards to all Wally:B

Liquid PEG? Not the stuff I know, then, which was like wax. PolyEthylene Glycol (PEG) comes in different molecular weights, from about 100 to something like 10000. (Don't quote me on those figures... I'm pulling 'em out of thin air. :-) Different weights = different uses; most woodies use around PEG-1000. Hope I'm not the bearer of bad news?

here's (http://www.12bmedia.com/carpentry/woodworking/peg-1000--polyethylene-glycol.html) a link that I bookmarked back when I had a fiddle with the stuff, you may find some useful info there.

Hmmm... a quick search also found this (http://4umi.com/wood/conservation/endingthebending.htm) which is more relevant to bending wood but it says this about PEG:

PEG