PDA

View Full Version : Early attempt

Little Festo
24th July 2003, 10:05 AM
Well here's my 3rd bowl. Not too bad but the wood was a little difficult. the wood is "Beauty Leaf", a tropical timber that grows locally.

Peter

Wood Borer
24th July 2003, 10:12 AM
I don't know much about turning but it looks OK to me.

Did you cut the timber yourself? Tell us more about the timber, diameter, height, hardness, is the dust deadly etc

- Wood Borer

Sir Stinkalot
24th July 2003, 01:21 PM
Peter,

I must comment on the quality of the photo .... well done. Its good to see that the photo was carefully arranged to bring the best out of the turning with adequate lighting and no distracting background. I can't really comment on the turning but many woodies can take a thing or two from the photography.

Cheers

Stinky.

Little Festo
28th July 2003, 10:09 AM
Thanks Sir Stinkalot. The photo should be ok as I'm a professional photographer. The bowl came up rather well and certainly photographed ok.

The wood was a bit tricky with the knots and seemed to have soft spots. The bowl is about 250 cm in diameter.

Peter

Sir Chiz
28th July 2003, 10:53 AM
I do a bit of turnin' myself,and I'll tell ya that's very nice,especially for a third attempt.
I wouldn't dare show anybody my third. :o

Nice piece of wood too!

Do ya give photography lessons?? :D

Phil.

Dan
28th July 2003, 03:15 PM
OK Peter,
How about letting us in on a few of the basics when it comes time to take a few pictures of the latest master piece. From what I can see dark backgrounds look good (magazines use them a lot). Lighting, from your photo it seems to be from above, but I could be wrong, maybe more from the front. Stinky might be able to help here too seeing as he spotted the quality of your photo without knowing you make a living from it.

Dan

Sir Stinkalot
28th July 2003, 03:41 PM