PDA

View Full Version : scroll saw purchase advice needed please

Sean
26th July 2003, 06:00 AM
Hello,

First of all let me say 'Great Site'.
Like so many others I am looking to purchase a scroll saw and was wondering if anyone would care to comment on what I am looking at so far. Keep in mind that I have no saw experience with scroll. So I really don't know what to look for.

Delta SS250 is one unit at our Canadian Tire Store for 199.00

Craftsman 21620 from Sears at 299.00

Would any of these be good first time choices?

Thank you,

sean

Iain
26th July 2003, 09:35 AM
The Delta would be a good choice but I cannot comment on Craftsman as it not available here but many USA BB's refer to the product in general as Crapsman which in itself tells a story.
For not much more the Dewalt DW788 would be available (about $400 I think) and some stores sell reconditioned units which I believe carry an as new warranty.
Just my AU$0:02 worth including GST.

Dean
26th July 2003, 11:14 AM
I've got the Delta SS250
Very happy with it so far.

Delta SS250 Review:
http://www.onlinetoolreviews.com/reviews/deltass250.htm

fxst
27th July 2003, 12:48 AM
For what its worth my hegna is proving to be the best investment made but I must admit the makita was a good buy as well at the time tho blade changes where a bit fiddly.
definately go for a variable speed tho if at all possible
Pete

oges
28th July 2003, 08:09 PM
i will have to agree with Iains comment also. few groups I talk to most do not recommend the Craftsman, have seen some favourable comments on the Delta though.

but for the price of the dewalt over there, its usually best to pay the extra for that in the long run if you can afford it

professori_au
15th August 2009, 11:18 PM
Hi folks,

Thanks for the comments regarding the Excalibur scroll saw and advice on learning to use a scroll saw.
Regarding the use of packing tape. I think it will work and will try it. Thank you.