PDA

View Full Version : combination machines

stevepay
28th July 2003, 11:34 PM
hi every one, first post for me so be gentle!

I'm in the market for a table saw and some other gear, probably a planer or jointer maybey a drill press as well.

heres my dilema, I've been looking mostly at the jet/delta gear and some others and thought I had made up my mind, then I went looking at the combination machines at Ron Mack in Ozzy park ( the casadei parva combis ) are these machines a viable alternative to a group of machines? I have never used a combi before and am not sure of the machines abilities, and for what their asking its not a cheap mistake if I get it wrong.

any Ideas? sugestions ? are they worth the money ?

:confused:

Wayne Davy
29th July 2003, 12:06 AM
Stoppers,

Your and evil, evil man :D LOL

ndru
29th July 2003, 03:07 PM
Stevepay,

This topic has been discussed briefly previously on this forum. but I've not seen any discussion covering the Casadei models. You'll find a fair bit of discussion about the pros and cons of combination machines versus separates generally on the rec.woodworking newsgroup (http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&group=rec.woodworking). Also, have a look at some of the Yahoo groups dedicated to machinery made by Robland, Minimax, Felder, etc. Fine Woodworking Magazine did a brief intro to combinations and a basic comparison between a number of models (http://www.minimax-usa.com/W161CH.pdf) .

I'm currently in "what machinery" research mode and plan to buy good quality stuff only once. My research so far has led me to the choice between combinations and separate machines coming down to:
- how important is workshop space to you? You can never have enough workspace to walk around in and assemble stuff! Combinations are more efficient with their footprint although you will still need a fair bit of space around them to change between functions;